Sharing is caring!

Hi viewers:
In this blog we discuss about the Mendeleeff’s Periodic Table

Periodic Classification of Elements

Many attempts were made to classify elements for study of their study.

Elements were divided on the basis of their states solid, liquid and gas and then by on the basis of Metals and non-metals but faced the failure due to the complex nature of the elements

Mendeleeff at last gave the shape of the periodic classification of the elements.  He was able to find out the relation between the properties of the element with their atomic weight.

Nature of the Mendeleeff’s Periodic Table

When the elements are placed according to the increase of their atomic weight, it is found that elements in the same group possess the same properties.

In this fashion when elements are placed they are placed in the horizontal rows and vertical column.

The vertical column is known as group


The horizontal rows are known as period

Mendeleeff’s Periodic Table there are 9 groups including 0 group, which is started from


I, II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, VIII and 0


There are seven periods in the table.  Elements in the group possess similar properties but elements in the same period have no similar properties.  Each group is divided into two sub groups Sub group A and Sub group B


In Frist group A element are called alkali metals elements and second group B elements are called alkali earth element.  Seventh group B elements are called halogens like Fl, Cl, Br, and I


0 group elements are called inert gases.


Periods and its number of elements


  1. First period is known as very short period containing only 2 elements H and He


  1. First short period containing 8 elements from Li to Ne


  1. Second short period containing 8 elements from Na to Ar


  1. Fourth periods is known as first long period containing 18 elements from K to Kr


  1. Fifth periods is known as second long period containing 18 elements from Rb to Xe


  1. Sixth period is known as first very long period containing 32 elements from Cs to Rn


  1. Seventh period is known as incomplete period containing 6 elements because


Lanthanide / rare earth elements:  The 14 elements from Cerium (58) to Lutecium  (71)


Actinide elements:  The 14 elements from Thorium (90) to Lawrencium (103)  all are radioactive


Transitional elements:  The elements from Lanthanam (57) to Mercury (80)


Coinage metals:  Copper, silver and gold

Modern classification

Mendeleff placed the elements according to their atomic weight.  Nowadays atomic weight is replaced by atomic number.  There are several advantages of using atomic number instead of atomic weight.

Mendeleff’s Periodic Law

It states that physical and chemical properties of elements and also their compounds are the periodic functions of their atomic number



  1. Systematic study of the properties of an element
  2. Correction of doubtful atomic weight
  3. Prediction of undiscovered elements



11Na = 2 + 8 + 1

The number of shell indicates the period

The number of electrons in the outer most shell indicate the group






If you have enjoyed reading this post”Mendeleeff’s Periodic Table”.  I would be very grateful if you would help it to spread by sharing on social media like Facebook, Twitter, Google+, by clicking on the share buttons below. If you have any questions or comments, feel free to ask them in the comment section below.

See you in my next blog post.


Also Read on Science Reckoner:




Sharing is caring!

The following two tabs change content below.
Hi viewers My name is Partha Pratim Goswami, (PpG) I am a teacher by profession. I have been teaching biology, chemistry and physics, sometimes mathematics also for last sixteen years. I would like to share my entire experience with all the viewers across the world through YouTube, which I think is an amazing platform to share all my experiences.

Latest posts by Partha Pratim Goswami (see all)

Leave a Reply